Adulting-ish  (but really just rambling)

Average Temperature: 20°

Precipitation:None

Yarn Colors: Purple Tones

I had a pretty off day today (seems to be like one of those weeks). I’m prone to night terrors & had one this morning for the first time in a few months so I really didn’t sleep well. It made me fuzzy & exhausted all day so that, on top of my extra workout for the Lazy Man (worst misnomer ever), I’ve kind of just drifted through the day.

Adulting

I considered writing about “adulting” but I don’t know if I have the capacity to sound anything but whiny or discombobulated. I’ll give it a shot though.

My best friend & her hubby put an offer in on a house today, of which I’m the most ecstatic for her. It also blows my mind a bit that we’re at the point in our lives that buying houses is a thing. I mean, yeah, we’re all pretty much married at this point. But my bestest best friend is buying a house, one of my other best friends is having a baby & looking to sell her condo so she & her hubby can buy a house, & the last one turned 30 a little over a month ago.

Didn’t we all just graduate from high school yesterday? (Okay, actually our 10 year high school anniversary was 2 months ago but that’s besides the point).

I’m about 14 months out from turning 30, which really doesn’t bother me (although Ry has told me the 10 days between when I turn 30 & he turns 30 will be some of the most miserable ever). Everyone has always told me I look older than I am so that getting older never really bothered me. Although I guess that “renowned psychologist & best-selling author” bit is mostly off the table at this point.

Writing

Well at least the psychologist portion of that. I had actually started blogging daily as a way to get me back into the habit of writing consistently. They say it takes 21 days to make a habit; I’m on day 7 or 8 I think, so a third of the way there.

Up until college I journaled & fiction wrote daily, then life circumstances got in the way, so I stopped. It’s legitimately my only serious life regret, the only thing I would go back & change. It was what defined me as an individual, was my thing. Some people had music, or arts, or sports. I had writing. And since I stopped it’s like there’s a dark spot in me I can’t get to light up again.

I did pick crocheting up in those years, which has been a godssend & I suppose the defining feature of my young adulthood, but it’s not creative in the same way as writing is. I follow other people’s patterns when I crochet, prescribed motions & I know in advance what the (basis) of the outcome was going to be. Writing was always a creative surprise.

But I Digress (as always)

Ry & I will have a different kind of adulting than most of our friends. The American Dream lifestyle isn’t in our cards, & not because of that millennial stigma the older generation has us pegged with. Ry’s a contractor & we have to follow the money. We might be told he’ll be working in one location for 5 years & it ends up we’ll have to move across country in 2. Or the reverse might happen. With that uncertainty, we won’t be able to buy a house, it’s impractical. It’s not that we don’t have the money or means; we just don’t how long we’ll be in any one spot.

So instead I’ll live vicariously through my best friends; buy all the house things for them & spoil their children rotten. And I can’t wait until my brother or Ry’s brothers have kids so we can be that badass, best aunt & uncle. Until then, though, I have my kitties:

Gurney is just the most excited!

And Talia is plotting the best way to kill Ry.

It just still blows my mind that (collective) we’re at that adultier-adult point in our lives.

  • 20 out of 112 biking miles completed 
  • 0 out of 26.2 running miles completed
  • 2,250 out of 4,224 swimming yards completed 
  • 1 out of 2 transition classes completed
Leave a Reply

